CHEESECAKE! Need a Better Reason to Go Raw for a Day?

Happy International Raw Food Day!  I can see you raising your eyebrows at this…  Yes, today is International Raw Food Day — a day launched by Raw Food Coach, Karen Knowler from the UK.  The point of the day is to encourage people to either go raw for a day, or at least do some research on what eating more raw foods can do for your body.  If you are asking about when this started, I can’t tell you because I  just found out about this date myself a few days ago.  So now I’m passing it on to you.

The one raw food recipe that got me truly excited about raw foods was CHEESECAKE!  Let me tell you, I have never been a big dessert person.  This is most likely because I don’t care for syrupy sweet things overdone with lots of sauces and toppings.  However, some months back I went into my favorite health food store and I saw a slice of lemon vegan cheesecake in the fridge.  I’m telling you it looked like regular cheesecake, but I was thinking, “it’s probably gross…”  Having just got paid and being the adventurous eater I am, I decided to give up $6 for one slice.  I took my bag of groceries and my $6 slice to the car, pulled out my plastic fork, and dug in.  Let me tell you, the moment I put that cheesecake into my mouth, I closed my eyes, put my head back, and thanked God for something so delicious.  I think a tear even came to my eye.  The cheesecake was so creamy and fluffy, the lemon was nice and tart, with enough sweetness that didn’t overpower the cheesecake.  I absolutely had to learn how to make this for myself.

I searched online for the best raw cheesecakes.  They all seem to be made of pretty much the same things:  raw cashews, almonds, dates, coconut oil, etc.  I used the recipes written in the blog, The Sunny Raw Kitchen.  Here’s a photo of what I was able to create using the site’s recipe as a guide:

Lemon Cheesecake with Strawberry Sauce

The beauty of this is that you can eat this for breakfast without feeling too bad about it.  I made this when I was still fairly new to raw foods, so there is no reason for you not to try to make this or some other easy raw food recipes.

What recipe first made you excited about raw foods?

Like this on Facebook

Leave a Reply

