12 Days Raw: I take responsibility for me

http://empathicperspectives.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/responsibility-quote.jpg

My life is finally finding some natural order.  I am feeling like my life is less of a mess.  My food choices have made me fall asleep by about 9pm, and I awake between 5am and 6am — naturally.  I feel like I finally have time to get my house in order, do exercise first thing in the morning (something I have always wanted to do but never had the energy to do it).  I wake up and do Bible study for 30 minutes just to get the day started right.  And this time, all this morning activity is not so much of a struggle.  It’s funny how something as simple as food can magically realign your entire life without having to formally establish goals, find willpower, etc.  It’s not that these are bad practices.  It’s just that living in America has taught us to organize our lives around keeping employment, instead of organizing our lives around our families, health, and general well-being.  That employment may keep our bills paid (albeit barely…), but it’s better than being homeless, right?  I now say, WRONG!!!  What good is that employment if it means you find it difficult to find the time to spend on activities that feed your soul?  How about finding employment that feeds your soul AND allows you to make regular time to spend with your family in a way that is meaningful for you?  What good is your job if it leaves you so stressed that you don’t even find joy in it anymore (if you ever did at all…)?

I say all this to say that raw foods is helping me to regain control of my life.  I willingly decided to give it away in exchange for living on someone else’s schedule.  I really can’t afford to do that anymore.

TODAY’S RAW FOOD RECIPE!

Banana Milkshake

2 frozen bananas

1/2 cup of almond milk (you can make your own using sprouted almonds — or buy it if your in a pinch…)

1/2 inch to 1 inch of peeled, fresh ginger

1 tsp of vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/3 tsp nutmeg

1. Place frozen bananas into a high speed blender.  I use a Vitamix — but if you don’t have one, use what you have.

2. Cut and peel fresh ginger.  The easiest way to peel fresh ginger is to use a butter knife or a spoon.  The skin should easily peel off.  Your ginger should release some juice while peeling.  If it does not, it’s too old and won’t be as flavorful.

3. Pour in almond milk and all the other ingredients.

4. Cover and blend until creamy and smooth.

That’s all it takes to make this beautiful raw treat.  I’ve eaten this for dinner on those 95 degree evenings with no air conditioner.  You can add a teaspoon or so of raw carob powder or raw cacao powder if you like.  I prefer carob as raw cacao is a toxic stimulant.  Fresh mint can also be added as well!

2 responses to “12 Days Raw: I take responsibility for me

Leave a Reply

