How Raw Food Led Me to Love Exercise

http://sweet-potatopie.com/healthandfitnessarticles/files/2010/02/black-woman-walking-exercise-treadmill.jpg

Get more exercise!

I love exercise!  I can’t even believe I just wrote that… but it’s the truth.  My body craves it.  I got off work today at 8pm, took the train home, put on my gym clothes, went to put a down payment on my new place, then got to the gym — at 10pm!  I have never done that before!  And what was funny is that I got to the gym, signed in, and got pissed because someone was on “my treadmill!”  Yes, I know that this gym has about 30 treadmills — maybe 5 were being used at that time.  And I was really upset that someone was using “my treadmill.”

Do I owe this newfound love of exercise to raw foods?  Absolutely!  Since completing my 30 day raw food challenge in June, I have been eating at least 2 raw meals a day.  Those meals are usually breakfast and lunch because those meals are easy for me to take to work.  The energy I have now is indescribable.  My thoughts are so much clearer.  I am better at completing the many tasks and projects that come my way at work.  The stress is definitely mounting during this time of year.  I have the added stress of trying to move to a new place and getting rid of just about everything I own.  And even though I know all of these things are happening, I know I have what it takes to handle it.  I don’t drown my feelings in french fries and chicken wings.  There’s no running out to the grocery store for ice cream I don’t need.  I get rid of the day’s stress on the treadmill — AND IN 95 DEGREE HEAT AT THAT!  I get on that treadmill and I run until I can’t run anymore.  I have no plan (at least not yet…) for how far I want to go or how long.  I just run until I’m tired.

So what’s a great pre-workout energy picker-upper?  I drink about a pint of a green smoothie starring KALE GREENS.  I don’t know what it is about kale, but whenever I have a smoothie or salad with kale greens, my body can’t rest.  It’s almost like drinking coffee without the jitters.  If I drink it for breakfast, I will have a quart or more.  That gives me lots of energy until I get to lunch.  I cut the serving size down to a pint for my evening workout because if I drink too much, I won’t sleep that night.

Here’s the recipe to the green smoothie I concocted tonight:

Pinapple Jolt Green Smoothie

1 bunch of kale greens (I used curly leaf – you use what you have)

3 or 4 slices of frozen pineapple

1 banana

1/4 to 1/3 cup of water

1. Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender.  I love my Vitamix, but use what you have.

2. Pour in a fancy glass, or put it in your workout drink container.

One response to “How Raw Food Led Me to Love Exercise

Leave a Reply

